Curriculum Objective Areas

Our curriculum objectives for learning and development are divided into nine areas of child growth and development. The first four describe major areas of child growth and development: social-emotional, physical, language and cognitive.     The other five areas are described as outcomes in early learning standards; Literacy, Mathematics, Science and Technology, Social Studies, and The Arts.     Attention is given to the different needs, interests and developmental levels of the individual children and each child’s family and community cultures when planning curriculum.

Social-Emotional Development

Young children’s social-emotional development involves learning how to understand their own and other’s feelings, regulate and express their emotions appropriately, build relationships with others, and interact in groups.

Physical Development

Physical development includes children’s gross (large muscle) and fine (small muscle) motor skills.     Balance; coordination; and locomotion, or traveling, are part of gross-motor development.     Grabbing an object; picking up a small object; cutting; drawing; and writing, are part of fine-motor development.

Language Development

Language is the principal tool for establishing and maintaining relationships with adults and other children. Children’s desire to communicate their thoughts, ideas, needs, and feelings with others motivates them to develop language.     Language also involves learning about the structure and sequence of speech sounds, vocabulary, grammar, and the rules for engaging in appropriate and effective conversation.

Cognitive Development

Cognitive development, also called intellectual development, is influenced by the child’s approaches to learning as well as his or her biological makeup and the environment. Cognitive skills include information processing, memory, classification, problem solving, language acquisition, and reading and mathematics learning.

Literacy Development

Mathematics Development

Science and Technology Development

Social Studies Development

The Arts

Student Assessment

Assessment: Teachers will use ongoing assessments to plan and implement developmentally appropriate curriculum that addresses specific learning outcomes. They will observe, record and document children’s progress and use these assessments as a basis for a variety of educational decisions that affect the child.


Communication: Written reports will be given to parents at least twice per year (in the fall and in the spring).     Conferences will be scheduled at those times to involve families in planning and implementing assessments.

Weekly emails from the school Director and your child’s teacher will also be shared- these emails will focus on both the specifics of the classroom and happenings at the school.

The classroom bulletin boards share scheduled daily and weekly learning goals and activities.

Trinity Day School promotes frequent and ongoing communication between families, teachers, and school administration.